Day 3 – ending my first “fast”   Leave a comment

21Aug12, 0945h: Ended fast this morning. Feeling a little achey around shoulder girdle, plus a slight headache, possibly after disturbed night, waking about 3 times. Had a banana earlier with my cuppa in bed…then just had a mashed banana, apricots, yoghourt & a granola sprinkle. Now have the burps, gurgles, etc. as wind develops!

Which one is Frank?

I’m trying this fast regime (2 successive days of only 600kcal, then 5 days of normal eating) as an experiment as I’m very interested and curious about what I eat and how it affects me. The idea is that various indicators are radically changed (blood glucose; IGF(?), etc……must check what these are!). These are all indicators of getting such things as diabetes, cancer, etc. It’s postulated that doing this could significantly reduce the chance [possibly to zero!] of getting such diseases. That’s gotta be worth looking into??

Going to take a Rennie and do some yoga/stretching to release my neck……

1200h: Didn’t need the Rennie! Just some lying down yoga, etc. Perhaps the food got into my system as well? Now I’m feeling fairly normal and have just had my daily addiction of strong black coffee plus a piece of toast.

I’m noticing a lessening of the desire (both physical and emotional/mental) to eat more than I really need – so just 1 piece of toast felt right, not the usual 2 (plus an “incy-wincy” piece of bread….JUST while the toast is browning!). Having said that, I have been developing this mindset/resolve over the last few weeks as I’ve reduced how much I eat (to lose weight), trying to eat only when I’m hungry – and by hungry I mean physically hungry, rather than my monkey-mind saying so [Just ONE more tiny chocolate digestive……].

Afternoon/evening: Feeling very normal, now. Got into quite an angry & depressed state [no, they’re not mutually exclusive in my experience!] after I called about my ongoing battle with the letting agency to get repairs done in this recently-taken flat. Spent all evening writing an email and letter outlining what I wanted done and why I was now seeing a solicitor….which I am about to do, having called Shelter and got a number to call. [Must mention the brilliant resource of http://www.saynoto0870.com where one can find “geographic” phone numbers which are the equivalent of 0800, 0870, 0845, etc. numbers….which are vital when one only has a mobile phone. Hence I got a number for Shelter instead of their advertised 0344 number].

Despite all this stress, I managed to not overeat and noticed a stronger will, or motivation, to stay very mindful of what I ate. I can’t say the same for drinking…..had more cider than I’d planned!

The thoughts, now, are about when to do the next 2 days of “fasting”. I might move to Mondays & Tuesday….or, possibly Thursdays & Fridays. I realised, after what a friend said on Sunday, that fasting on a weekend could be difficult as Saturdays & Sundays can be very long and empty….giving monkey mind lots of space to denigrate my efforts. Must decide tomorrow, as I could start again this Thursday!

Posted August 22, 2012 by boundlessfrank in Thoughts While "Fasting"

Leave a Reply

