The Benefits of Gym-Induced Endorphins?   Leave a comment

29Aug, 1915h: Having been in a very depressed state yesterday, I’ve got back to a more even state of mind this afternoon/evening. My second day of reduced-calorie-intake [challenge: invent an acronym to use instead of “fast” that is snappy AND conveys the idea of CR or IF ]….and the hunger pangs are starting now.

I was still depressed, unmotivated, etc. this morning. At least I had the incentive of having to drop off my car at UK Car Body Repairs [another insurance claim…why do people keep clipping my nearside front wing??]. I, then, went to my gym as I know it helps me switch off my monkey-mind AND I’m on a mission to lose weight and get healthy (or healthier) AND to keep that going into my old age.

Think the smell of sweat and Kerrang at full volume!

A good session – I’ve changed from my fairly lackadaisical regime of repetitions, with relatively low weights. I’m now, after Craig (trainer/owner at Workout Bristol), suggested my knee would benefit from resistance work. He’s right, as my knee already feels a little more stable/activated/strong…hard to describe or quantify.

As for the “fast” – I had a larger breakfast this morning, using up all of my 600kcals allowance. Hence, nothing since, except black coffee & herbal tea* [I’m telling myself that black coffee has no calorific content/value…..it has anything from 5 to 25kcal per mug, depending who you believe (see yesterday’s post)]. Now I find that coffee can help us keep, or even produce, fat …..so, as with all dieting, health, etc., there is LOTS of information out there and it’s easy to get fixated on DOs and DON’Ts.

I’m trying hard to stay relaxed about it all – while keeping focussed.

Hunk, huh?

* and much water, of course.

Leave a Reply

